EuroSys Roger Needham PhD Award

Prize donated by Microsoft Research Cambridge

The EuroSys Roger Needham PhD award is an anual prize awarded to a PhD student from a European University whose thesis is regarded to be an exceptional, innovative contribution to knowledge in the systems area. “Systems” is interpreted broadly, and includes operating systems, distributed systems, real-time systems, transactional and database systems, language runtimes, embedded systems, computer networks, systems aspects of programming, systems security, etc. The winner will receive 2000 €, which will be awarded at the EuroSys conference. The prize is donated by Microsoft Research Cambridge.

Criteria for selection are the overall contribution to systems research in terms of scientific originality, scientific significance, scientific rigor, quality of the presentation and potential for practical application.

Nominations for the 2014 award — for students who have defended their PhD thesis after September 1, 2012 — are open. The deadline for nominations is December 31, 2013. By this date the student must have defended the dissertation that will be submitted.

Nominations can only be made by a student’s PhD supervisor. A nomination must include:

  • The title and abstract of the dissertation;
  • copy of the dissertation itself (PDF);
  • a (1 page) recommendation letter from the submitter (PDF);
  • the name of the institution and the date of the defence; and
  • the names of up to three suggested external reviewers; the committee will request an external review from one of them.

It may optionally include a PDF file containing supporting publications (mandatory if the dissertation is not written in English).

Nominations can be mailed to Sape Mullender, Make sure the words Needham Award are in the subject line. You will receive an acknowledgement of receipt (try again if you don’t).

2014 EuroSys Roger Needham Award Review Committee:

  • Özalp Babaoğlu, University of Bologna
  • Tommaso Cucinotta, Bell Labs
  • Jacob Gorm Hansen, Bromium
  • Rebecca Isaacs, Micorsoft Research
  • Sape Mullender, Bell Labs (chair)
  • Satyanarayanan, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Gilles Muller, Inria
  • Derek McAuley, University of Nottingham
  • Robbert van Renesse, Cornell University

Past recipients:
2013: Asia Slowinska, for her thesis Using Information Flow Tracking to Protect Legacy Binaries
2012: Derek Murray, for his thesis A Distributed Execution Engine Supporting Data-Dependent Control Flow
2011: Jorrit Herder, for his thesis Building a Dependable Operating System: Fault Tolerance in MINIX 3
2010: Willem de Bruijn, for his thesis Adaptive Operating System Design for High Throughput I/O
2009: Jacob Gorm Hansen, for his thesis Virtual Machine Mobility with Self-Migration
2008: Adam Dunkels, for his thesis Programming Memory-Constrained Networked Embedded Systems
2007: Nick Cook, for his thesis Middleware Support for Non-repudiable Business-to-Business Interactions
2006: Oliver Heckmann, for his thesis A System-oriented Approach to Efficiency and Quality of Service for Internet Service Providers